The Most Challenging Aspects of Learning Portuguese

Hello,

I’m quite new to the Portuguese language. The question I wanted to ask is, what are some of the most challenging factors people have faced when learning Portuguese? For me, it seems that many words change completely simply by changing the English word by one letter.

For example:

Boy = garoto
Boys = rapazes

I must admit, I feel intimidated trying to learn this language. It’s probably too early for me to feel this way?

By the way, I love this site. The audio controls on the short conversations section are incredible.

Bem vindo, @m7870! :slightly_smiling_face: To me, the most challenging aspect is being aware of all the endings of words that need to change, based on gender and number, as you point out. But stick with it, it will become easier with time.
By the way, are you studying Brazilian Portuguese? “Garoto” is the word for “boy” in Brazilian Portuguese. In European Portuguese it would be “menino” and “meninos.”
Good luck!

2 Likes

"By the way, are you studying Brazilian Portuguese? “Garoto” is the word for “boy” in Brazilian Portuguese. "

Oh, I didn’t know that. I’m studying European Portuguese. I took that translation form a simple Google translator, I guess I need to stop doing that.

Thank you for the help!
Mark

Olá, @m7870, and welcome! Thanks for posting and for your feedback.

Plurals in Portuguese can be tricky, because there are several different patterns to consider. But they’re usually not that radically different :slight_smile: You just happened to pick two different synonyms. You could just as well say “garoto”/“garotos” or “rapaz”/“rapazes”. “Garoto” is more common in Brazil than in Portugal (but we also know and sometimes use the word here), but “rapaz” and “menino” (the latter for younger children) are both used all the time.

3 Likes