Motivation when studying Português

I’m ashamed to admit, I am running low on motivation these days when studying my Português. Does anyone have some ideas to keep it “fresh”, for lack of a better term? I started studying online 2 years ago and last year signed up for online lessons. I’ve tried numerous ways to include Português in my daily life (iPhone settings, podcasts, book/flashcards, watching tv…). I miss speaking/listening (to) Português, miss wandering around Lisbon, and I simply cannot wait to go back, which should be motivation enough, but life gets in the way. Any suggestions would be most appreciated.
Obrigada a todos!

6 Likes

Oh my word… I just proofread this post and I sound like a giant whiner. Sorry about that, not trying to be a giant baby, just looking for some fresh perspectives.

4 Likes

Hi, @Paige! I can relate to this feeling, myself. Sometimes the intensity of my excitement/motivation for learning Portuguese is high, sometimes low. I think it’s just natural, and I know that something will soon pique my interest again. I read a few of the online Portuguese journals each day; try to find books at my level and about something that intrigues me; watch lots of YouTube videos in Portuguese (which are multiplying like rabbits on the Home/Recommendations screen); and continue to plod along in Practice Portuguese! I don’t find that it helps me to try to “force” things, and I know that I won’t ever abandon learning it. You started a good topic that will be of help to many of us! :slight_smile:

7 Likes

Thank you for your support and recommendations. I used to read Jornal Noticias everyday but forgot about it…I will start that again, thanks for bringing it up. Also, I think the one thing that I have continued to do (other than my online class) is watch “The Voice Portugal” on RTP.

I will check out the Home/Recommendations screen for the YouTube videos.