Tell Us Your Most Unforgettable Portuguese Learning Experience!

I’m a Canadian born in the Philippines who fell in love with Portugal way harder than he had expected. Somehow, perhaps somewhere along the hilly streets of Lisboa, the dramatic beaches of Lagos, the quiet charm of Colares, the intimate surf vibes of Peniche, the artistic mystery of Porto, the little chats with locals, the friendships that were carved through deep conversations over Cozido à Portuguesa, robalo grelhado and Francesinha , and the 3-hour wine-filled dinners that always ended at around 11:30pm with um cafezinho, a full tummy and a fuller heart, I found a third home.

I started studying Portuguese in December 2022. I remember, back in January when I first discovered the magical world of super affordable and super delicious lunches at this super popular Portuguese supermarket, I would order in the most beginner-level Portuguese with no linguistic ammo other than a couple of memorized phrases and some last-minute searches of how to pronounce things like Almôndegas, Legumes à Brás, Rolo de carne com espinafres , and Migas de grelos com feijão frade (on top of panic-searching what each of those even entails), and the funcionários would immediately switch to English, long before I even get to finish blurting out my first sentence.