Olá from the United States of America

Hi everyone! My name is Brandon and I’m from Boston, Massachusetts, USA. I am learning Portuguese now in my 30s to get closer to my Portuguese roots. Both of my parents immigrated to the US from São Miguel, Açores when they were teenagers. For some reason, they did not teach me Portuguese as a kid! Now I find that I have an undeniable urge to connect with this beautiful culture and country. Later this month, my soon to be wife and I will be traveling to Portugal for the first time on our honeymoon! We are visiting Lisboa, Porto, and São Miguel. I have been working on learning Portuguese for at least 6 months now but I know it will take a long time to get comfortable speaking and comprehending. Luckily for me I can practice with my family! Good luck and best wishes to everyone.

6 Likes

Olá, @Brandon-A, and congratulations on your upcoming wedding! I hope the honeymoon is perfect. Just be ready for the very different accents you’ll find on each stop :crazy_face: Regardless, I’m sure it’ll be great to connect with your parents’ roots.

Hi Brandon! Greetings from just outside of Boston (Maynard). Like you, I’m the child of Portuguese immigrants who didn’t work on teaching me Portuguese. I was lucky to have become interested in the language after a trip I made with my Avos when I was 15. I’ve been slowly working on it ever since–I’m 50. Wishing you lots of luck. If you’re ever interested in local practice, let me know.

Olá, everyone. My name is Kim and I live in Virginia. I took Brazilian portuguese years ago and I’ve forgotten it all (well, almost!) so I’m going to learn Continental, as I learned to call it.

I’m glad to see there’s an app to use on my phone when I’m out and about. I learn better by hearing things, so it’ll help a lot.

Good luck, all of you!

1 Like

Welcome, @garugaru, and good luck to you as well :slight_smile: We’re here to support if you need us!