Just an Introduction

Just thought it would be good to get The Café rolling a bit with an initial post. I started learning Portuguese about 6 or more years ago, using first, I think, Rosetta Stone and some other programs. I wish I had started studying the language 20 years ago! Since I live with a native Brazilian Portuguese speaker, I initially studied that. However, after we visited Portugal twice and found out how much we liked it, there dawned upon us the idea that, one day, Portugal might actually be a place where we would consider visiting for an extended period of time, if not actually moving to live there (eu sou reformado). My focus then switched, not quite two years ago, to learning European Portuguese, and I have to say that I prefer this and really like the “softer” sound. Brazilian Portuguese, to me, has a much clearer, crisp sound, however, and is a bit easier for me to understand the spoken word. I’ve been utilizing, mostly, Memrise and, just recently, Practice Portuguese. Practice Portuguese is a great program, especially because it offers so much in the way of Podcasts, where I really have to “stretch” my skills in listening and comprehending the “full-speed” conversations. Memrise is good, too, and I have learned a great deal from that program, also. I am at the level where I can actually, on a daily basis, read and understand most of the articles in Expresso, and that, to me, is a very satisfying and enjoyable achievement for this 70-year-old student!

8 Likes

Congrats for getting the ball rolling! Being able to read Portuguese newspapers is definitely something to be proud of, and also great practice. Does that mean you’ve already moved to Portugal or are you reading Expresso online? :slight_smile:

2 Likes

Thanks, Joseph! I am reading them online. I wish I were reading them in Portugal–perhaps someday!

1 Like