Building a new house in portugal?

I am an architect working in Dubai and have a house under construction in Portugal. Since I have some experience now in going about this whole process of appointment of an architect, approval from the Municipality, selection of a contractor and the construction phases, I would like to offer my help to those who would like to build their own houses in Portugal. I will try to respond to each and every question however, sometimes the responses may be delayed if that is okay with you? Alternatively, you may also post your own experiences of buying, renovating, building your own houses in Portugal on this thread, so we can all benefit from your knowledge.

9 Likes

my husband and I just closed escrow on a property In Madeira we are in the beginning process of designing. The property is on the beach and we are finding out that we now have to prove to the courts that the property was owned privately since 1863 in order to get the property granted as private and not public are you familiar with this process? we have retained an attorney and it is being worked on I was just wondering if you had anything similar with your property. We are going back in April to meet with the architect to hopefully start the seawall but even on that we are being told that the municipalities are requesting a sea study before we can build the sea wall.

Hello Tresha,