A1 to next step strategy

Oi! My wife and I have been very focused on PP for about 3 months or so. We really want to visit PT (maybe in 2021?) and also thinking about relocating there permanently. PP has been great so far. We also have several hardcopy resources that are helping.

My question revolves around strategy for when and how to start working conversationally with a tutor. I had a tutor video call last week (1st time, so nervous) and both tutor and I thought I am lacking in vocabulary. He was complimentary of my pronunciation which I attribute to PP.

Thoughts on how to make the leap from self-study in PP to live practice? Ultimate goal is to enroll in in person PT classes in PT, perhaps for a solid 6 immersion months. I guess I am looking for a little direction to move from absolute beginner to next level. Looking forward to your input.

In gratitude.

4 Likes

Olá, if you’ve only been self-teaching for 3 months I would say that you’re not yet ready for conversation lessons. When I first started learning, after a similar period, I found a place with AirBNB in Porto with an owner who claimed he could speak English and Portuguese. In fact he was really nice but his English was as bad as my Portuguese and I only managed to exchange a few words with him in Portuguese.
His wife, however, was fluent in French and since my French is about B2/C1 level I learned a lot about Portugal and about Rui, who had been a prisoner of war for a year in East Timor.
As your tutor suggested, I needed a bigger vocabulary to take advantage of my trip.

At the time I was using the following books which I strongly recommend:
‘Beginning Portuguese’, and ‘Basic Portuguese’, both by Sue Tyson-Ward, pub. by McGraw Hill
and for grammar reference ‘Portuguese, an Essential Grammar’ by Amelia Hutchinson and Janet LLoyd, pub. by Routledge.

The first two books have hundreds of little exercises and linguistic jargon is kept to a minimum.