App Icon: Which should we launch with?

1 Like

I vote #3. #1 has more contrast, but #3 makes me think of the Portuguese flag more, so I can immediately connect it to European Portuguese

5 Likes

I vote for #3, but with a white outline around the face. Reasons: One of the most difficult things I found when I started learning the language was that it was hard to find good European Portuguese resources. The logo should be easily recognizable as European Portuguese and not Brazilian. The red and green flag colors do that for me.

A quick test is to back away from your device. Squint your eyes. It should be easily readable. The first two, left to right jump out at you because of the white outline around the face. You could certainly try the yellow outline, as I understand the thought behind it, however I’d make it bright yellow all the way around the face, with no part of it a shadowed yellow as that dulls the color of the outline and makes it disappear and subsequently fades that corner of the image.Then squint and see if that feels right to you.

I might also saturate the green and red of the flag ever so slightly for further impact so that the face pops against the flag more. You could also use the white outline around the face and try the full shadow behind the head in a slightly muted yellow shade. That might serve for the yellow in the crest. And blue eyes instead of black? Might work.

Fabulous by the way, you’re on a roll. Keep it going!

6 Likes

Eu também preferirei a versão “3”,
concordo com os argumentos da Molly e Maggie. A característica reconhecível, as cores deviam ser mais fortes :portugal:, EU (!!!) acho-as muito pálidas. Por outro lado, percebo, que neste caso a imagem da cara seja mais difícil integrar numa maneira bem visível…

1 Like

I follow the arguments from the others. #3 would be my choice.
Have a great day everyone.

1 Like

#3 is also my favourite. It gives clearly the hint regarding European Portuguese.

1 Like